How to Search and Obtain Marriage Records in Wyoming, USA



Get Instant Access 




How to Search and Obtain Marriage Records in Wyoming

Marriage Records in Wyoming

Marriage records contain specific information about the married couple. This information includes the names of the two individuals, the date of the marriage, and the place of marriage. Some marriage records will also include the names of the mothers and fathers of the couple. Additionally, some records contain the names of the official witnesses to the marriage. Some governmental marriage records contain the maiden names of the mothers of the bride and groom as well as the place of residence of the married couple.

A marriage record should not be confused with a marriage license, a marriage announcement, or a marriage index. The marriage license is the legal document that was issued to the couple that was married. The marriage announcement is the public listing of the wedding, in most cases, in a published newspaper.

A marriage index is simply a list of the marriages within a specific location, usually a specific state. Typically, such an index includes the names of the bride and groom, the date of the marriage, the name of the county in which the marriage occurred, and either the file number of the license or the volume and page name for a register listing as well as the location of the marriage record.

In Wyoming, marriage records must be obtained from the county courthouse office. It is necessary to contact the County Clerk at the local county courthouse where the records are kept. To obtain the cost of certified copies of vital records and lookup fees, call 307-777-7591.

For a successful search for the marriage records that you are trying to locate, follow these steps:
1. Print or type each name and address clearly to avoid confusion. This includes the full name of both the husband and the wife. The maiden name should be included for the wife. Include nicknames and alternate spellings that may have been used, but list them as such.
2. Keep your request brief and to the point.
3. Limit your request to one marriage record.
4. Include the full address of the individuals at the time of the marriage, including street, city or town, and state. If you know the county in which the marriage took place, include that as well.
5. Include the date that the marriage occurred. If you do not know the date, include a time frame for the search. Generally, it is best to specify a short span of years for an unknown year search. You can always expand the number of years that you search, and a shorter span will lead to a shorter search. You can expect to pay an additional fee for searches such as this that require more effort.
6. Include contact information where you can be reached in the event that more information is required. Include a telephone number, fax number, or an e-mail address.
7. Include your relationship to the individuals listed in your search request.
8. Include the reason for your request.
9. Print your name clearly and sign your request. Some states may also require additional identifying information on you as well. Therefore, you may want to include your driverís license number.
10. Include a SASE, or self addressed stamped envelope with your request for a speedier delivery.
11. Include the date that you mail your request with your correspondence.

To obtain a copy of a marriage record, contact the County Clerk in the specific county office where the marriage license was issued. Remember to provide as much accurate information as you have for the search, sufficient contact information for you, and the required fee. Providing the necessary information will speed the process up considerably.

A list of the local county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers for Wyoming is provided below in alphabetical order.

Albany County
Albany County Clerk
Courthouse, 525 Grand Ave. Room 105
Laramie, WY 82070-3836
Telephone: (307) 742-2541

Big Horn County
Big Horn County Clerk
Courthouse, P.O. Box 31
Basin, WY 82410
Telephone: (307) 568-2357

Campbell County
Campbell County Clerk
500 South Gillette Avenue, P.O. Box 3010
Gillett, WY 82716-4239
Telephone: (307) 682-7285

Carbon County
Carbon County Clerk
Fifth and Spruce, P.O. Box 6
Rawlins, WY 82301
Telephone: (307) 328-2668

Converse County
Converse County Clerk
P.O. Box 990
Douglas, WY 82633-0990
Telephone: (307) 358-2061

Crook County
Crook County Clerk
P.O. Box 37
Sundance, WY 82729-0037
Telephone: (307) 283-1323

Fremont County
Fremont County Clerk
P.O. Box CC, 450 N. 2nd Room 220
Lander, WY 82520
Telephone: (307) 332-2405

Goshen County
Goshen County Clerk
P.O. Box 160
Torrington, WY 82240
Telephone: (307) 532-4051

Hot Springs County
Hot Springs County Clerk
Courthouse, 415 Arapahoe St.
Thermopolis, WY 82443-2299
Telephone: (307) 864-3515

Johnson County
Johnson County Clerk
76 N. Main St.
Buffalo, WY 82834
Telephone: (307) 684-7272

Laramie County
Laramie County Clerk
1902 Carey Avenue
Cheyenne, WY 82001
Telephone: (307) 633-4253

Lincoln County
Lincoln County Clerk
P.O. Box 670
Kemmerer, WY 83101-3141
Telephone: (307) 877-9056

Natrona County
Natrona County Clerk
200 N. Center St., Room 115
Casper, WY 82601-1949
Telephone: (307) 235-9200

Niobrara County
Niobrara County Clerk
P.O. Box 420
Lusk, WY 82225
Telephone: (307) 334-2211

Park County
Park County Clerk
P.O. Box 160, 1002 Sheridan Ave.
Cody, WY 82414-0160
Telephone: (307) 587-5548

Platte County
Platte County Clerk
P.O. Box 728, 800 9th St.
Wheatland, WY 82201-0728
Telephone: (307) 322-3555

Sheridan County
Sheridan County Clerk
224 S. Main St.
Sheridan, WY 82801-4855
Telephone: (307) 674-2500

Sublette County
Sublette County Clerk
21 South Tyler Street, P.O. Box 250
Pinedale, WY 82941
Telephone: (307) 367-4372

Sweetwater County
Sweetwater County Clerk
P.O. Box 730
Green River, WY 82935-0730
Telephone: (307) 875-2611

Teton County
Teton County Clerk
P.O. Box 1727
Jackson WY 83001-1727
Telephone: (307) 733-4430

Uinta County
Uinta County Clerk
225 9th St.
Evanston, WY 82930-3415
Telephone: (307) 789-2471

Washakie County
Washakie County Clerk
P.O. Box 260
Worland, WY 82401-0260
Telephone: (307) 347-6491

Weston County
Weston County Clerk
1 W. Main St.
Newcastle, WY 82701-2106
Telephone: (307) 746-4744

Order right now and get Unlimited Access to sources for Wyoming Marriage Records, Unlimited Background Checks and much more!

Home - Resources - Wyoming Marriage Records
All Rights Reserved Copyright 2008-2010 is an affiliate site that recommends legal means of public records research only.